Monday, January 27, 2020

A SISTER'S COURAGE BY MOLLY GREEN - AVON PUB (HARPER COLLINS)

About A Sister's Courage


• Paperback: 400 pages

• Publisher: Avon (January 21, 2020)



It’s 1939 and the threat of war hangs over Britain…



The most ambitious of three sisters, Lorraine ‘Raine’ Linfoot always dreamed of becoming a pilot. As a spirited seventeen-year-old, she persuades her hero Doug Williams to teach her to fly.



When war breaks out in 1939, Raine is determined to put her skills to good use. She enlists in the Air Transport Auxiliary, becoming one of a handful of brave female pilots flying fighter planes to the men on the front line.



Raine embraces the challenges of the job, despite its perils. But when Doug is reported missing after his Spitfire is shot down, she realises the war could tear apart not only her country, but also her heart…



A gripping story of family, friendship and courage, perfect for fans of Natasha Lester, Lizzie Page and Call the Midwife.


REVIEW/THOUGHTS:
I love reading Historical Fiction set during WWII. This book highlighted women’s bravery and how these women were able to help in the war efforts. It is 1939 and our heroine is Lorraine ‘Raine’ Linfoot who at a very young age was always fascinated with flying, despite her mother’s adamant opposition. Her determination landed Raine with the ATA (Air Transport Auxillary) that trains women to help the men in the front lines.

Molly Green’s writing was inspirational and beautiful. I loved the characters, the relationships, and the situations that Green writes about that transported me to that time. Her writing was vivid and rich. The dialogue was great and the stories were so engaging that you will be gripped into the story line. The story tells of ordinary people during that time and the daily struggles families go through as the country was coming to grips with the dark and looming war.

This was my first time reading Molly Green and I am definitely a fan of her writing. She knows how to create strong, realistic and beautiful characters that give inspiration to young women wanting to make a difference in our world.



Social Media



 #asisterscourage @tlcbooktours and @avonbooks.





Purchase Links


HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble


About Molly Green






Molly Green is a seasoned author of fiction and non-fiction. She has sold lipstick in a Denver store, modelled in Atlanta, assisted the UN Narcotics Director in Geneva, chauffeured a Swiss Gnome in Zurich, assisted a famous film producer in the UK, and cooked in a sanatorium in Germany. She now lives and writes in Tunbridge Wells, Kent.

1 comment: