Wednesday, January 6, 2021

1.06.2021 AN AMERICAN IN PARIS by Siobhan Curham @BOOKOUTURE

 



Publisher : Bookouture (December 30, 2020)
Language: : English
Paperback : 350 pages
ISBN-10 : 1800190115

Paris, 1940: Walking through Montmartre that morning was like the eerie calm right before a storm. The roads were deserted. We carried on, arm in arm, and then finally, we saw them. Columns and columns of soldiers, spreading through the streets like a toxic grey vapour. ‘You must write about this,’ he whispered to me. ‘You must write about the day freedom left Paris.’

As Nazi troops occupy the City of Lights, American journalist Florence is determined to do everything she can to save her adopted home and the man she loves.

Florence had arrived in Paris in 1937 and on a beautiful summer’s day, met and fell in love with Otto, a Jewish artist from Austria, who had fled persecution in his homeland. But as swastikas are draped along the city’s wide boulevards, everything Otto was running from seems to have caught up with him.

Both Florence and Otto begin lending their talents to the Resistance, working to sabotage the Germans right under their noses. Florence’s society columns that, before the war were filled with tales of glamorous Parisian parties, now document life under occupation and hide coded messages for those fighting outside France for freedom. While Otto risks arrest in order to pin up the anti-Nazi posters he designs by candlelight in their tiny apartment.

But with every passing day, things become more dangerous for Otto to remain in Paris. If Florence risks everything by accepting a secret mission, can she ensure his survival so that they can be reunited once the war is over?

A sweeping wartime story that will capture your heart and never let it go. Fans of The Alice Network, The Lost Girls of Paris and My Name is Eva will be absolutely gripped from the very first page.

 MY REVIEW:

Paris in any book title mesmerizes me like a moth to a flame. This book did just that - this was a mesmerizing dual tie line read that I absolutely loved and enjoyed. The way the stories were weaved together linking back the two stories were absolutely brilliant and one I really enjoyed. As a lover of both historical fiction and contemporary reads, this novel was well written and truly engaging as I could not stop turning those pages to see what would happen between the characters in both timeline.

The story set in the late 1930's, is centered on Florence a journalist and dancer who moves to Paris and has a chance encounter with Otto, a Jew and an artist whom Florence falls in love with. Then in 2018 in another timeline and point of view, we meet social media influencer Sage whose lapse in judgement goes viral which ends up being viewed by someone who noticed her unique locket. 

I found the story and the circumstances surrounding them absolutely brilliant. This was such a gorgeous story that looked at both past and present and how the war and at the same time social media shows its harshness. I found this quite an immersive read I really enjoyed. I highly recommend this to historical fiction fans. And to those new to this genre will find this novel about strong women, courage and family quite the read.

Author bio:

 






Siobhan Curham is an award-winning author, ghost writer, editor and writing coach. She has also written for many newspapers, magazines and websites, including The Guardian, Breathe magazine, Cosmopolitan, Writers’ Forum, DatingAdvice.com, and Spirit & Destiny. Siobhan has been a guest on various radio and TV shows, including Woman’s Hour, BBC News, GMTV and BBC Breakfast. And she has spoken at businesses, schools, universities and literary festivals around the world, including the BBC, Hay Festival, Cheltenham Festival, Bath Festival, Ilkley Festival, London Book Fair and Sharjah Reading Festival.



https://siobhancurham.com/

https://www.facebook.com/Siobhan-Curham-Author-398343120181969

https://twitter.com/SiobhanCurham



Buy Links:



Amazon: https://bit.ly/3mlNzgj

Apple: http://apple.co/2ETJ0tT

Kobo: http://bit.ly/3nm25q2

Google: http://bit.ly/2Ss6CZI

No comments:

Post a Comment